Jews in the Administration


Jewish Virtual Library
George W. Bush: Jews in the Administration of president (2001 – 2009)

Elliott Abrams – Director of the National Security Council’s Office for Democracy, Human Rights and International Operations

Jeffrey Berkowitz (2005-2006) – White House Liaison to the Jewish Community and then office of presidential scheduling

Stuart Bernstein – Ambassador to Denmark

Brad Blakeman – White House Director of Scheduling

Josh Bolten (2006- ) – Chief of Staff

Nancy Brinker – Ambassador to Hungary and then chief of protocol for the State Department

Michael Chertoff – Head of the Justice Department’s criminal division

Douglas Feith (2001-2005) – Under Secretary of Defense for Policy

Ari Fleischer (2001-2003) – White House Press Secretary

David Frum (2001-2002) – Speechwriter

Chris Gersten – Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Administration for Children and Families at HHS

Adam Goldman (2001-2003) – White House Liaison to the Jewish Community

Blake Gottesman – President’s personal aide

Jeremy L. Katz (2007- ) – White House Liaison to the Jewish Community

Daniel Kurtzer (2001-2005) – Ambassador to Israel

Frank Lavin – Ambassador to Singapore

Jay Lefkowitz (2001-2004) – Deputy Assistant to the President and
Director of the Domestic Policy Council

I. Lewis Libby (2001-2005) – Chief of Staff to the Vice President

Ken Mehlman – White House Political Director

John Miller – Director, State Department Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons

Michael Mukasey (2007- ) – Attorney General

Noam Neusner (2004-2005) – White House Liaison to the Jewish Community

Mel Sembler – Ambassador to Italy

Martin Silverstein – Ambassador to Uruguay

Cliff Sobel – Ambassador to the Netherlands

Tevi Troy – Deputy Secretary, Health & Human Services Department and Assistant to the President, Domestic Policy

Mark D. Weinberg – Assistant Secretary of Housing and Urban Development for Public Affairs

Ron Weiser – Ambassador to Slovakia

Paul Wolfowitz (2001-2005) – Deputy Secretary of Defense

Dov Zakheim (2001-2004) – Undersecretary of Defense (Controller)

Jay Zeidman (2006-2007) – White House Liaison to the Jewish Community

Barack Obama: Jews in the Administration of President

Current Members

Tony Blinken

Deputy National Security Advisor

Danielle Borrin

Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Deputy Director of Public Engagement

Gary Gensler

Chairman, Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Jonathan Greenblatt

Special Assistant to the President and Director, Office of Social Innovation and Civic Participation (Domestic Policy Council)

Jack Lew

Secretary of the Treasury

Eric Lynn

Middle East Policy Adviser

Matt Nosanchuk

Associate Director, Office of Public Engagement for Jewish Outreach

David Plouffe

Senior Advisor to the President

Daniel Rubenstein

Ambassador to Syria

Dan Shapiro

Ambassador to Israel

Gene Sperling

Director, National Economic Council

Aviva Sufian

Special Envoy, U.S. Holocaust Survivor Services (Inaugural role)

Adam Szubin

Director, Office of Foreign Assets Control (Treasury)

Janet Yellen

Chairwoman, Federal Reserve

David Cohen

Deputy Director, Central Intelligence Agency

David Saperstein

Ambassador for Religious Freedom

Amy Rosenbaum

Director of Legislative Affairs

Raffi Freedman-Gurspan

Liaison to the LGBT Community


Former Members

Ben Bernanke (2006-2013)

Chairman, Federal Reserve

Mary Schapiro (2009-2012)

Chairwoman, Securities and Exchange Commission

Steven Simon (2009-2012)

Senior Director, Middle East/North Africa, National Security Council

Rahm Emanuel (2009-2010)

Chief of Staff to the President

David Axelrod (2009-2011)

Senior Advisor to the President

Elena Kagan (2009-2010)

Solicitor General of the United States

Peter Orszag (2009-2010)

Director of the Office of Management and Budget

Lawrence Summers (’09-’11)

Director National Economic Council

Mona Sutphen (2009-2011)

Deputy White House Chief of Staff

James B. Steinberg (’09-’11 )

Deputy Secretary of State

Dennis Ross (2009-2011 )

Special Assistant to the President

Ronald Klain (2009-2011)

Chief of Staff to the Vice President

Jared Bernstein (2009-2011)

Chief Economist/Economic Policy Advisor to the Vice President

Susan Sher (2009-2011)

Chief of Staff to the First Lady

Lee Feinstein (2009)

Campaign Foreign Policy Advisor

Mara Rudman (2009)

Foreign Policy Advisor


Source: Republican Jewish Coalition

Galina Toktalieva

Author, photographer

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *